Useful links

Useful links to some community organisations and government funded services that offer information, support, counselling and other psychological services.

Alcohol & Drugs Services

Alcoholics Anonymous aa.org.nz
Care NZ carenz.co.nz
Community Alcohol & Drug Services (CADS) cads.org.nz
The Bridge (Salvation Army Services) salvationarmy.org.nz
Wingz Trust Residential Support wingstrust.co.nz
Higher Ground Drug Rehabilitation Trust higherground.org.nz
Narcotics Anonymous nzna.org
Drug Help Website drughelp.org.nz

Anger Management

Shine 2shine.org.nz
Man Alive manalive.org.nz
Friendship House friendshiphouse.org.nz
North Harbour Living Without Violence livingwithoutviolence.org.nz

Depression

There is a way through (as with JK on TV) depression.org.nz
The Low Down thelowdown.co.nz
Beating the blues beatingtheblues.co.nz

Internet addictions

Net Addiction NZ netaddiction.co,nz

Low Cost Counselling Options

Lifeline lifeline.org.nz
Youthline youthline.co.nz
Home & Family Counselling homeandfamily.org.nz
AUT Psychotherapy Clinic (adult & child services) aih.aut.ac.nz
Family Action: Whanua Toa familyaction.org.nz

Men’s Support Organisations

Man Alive manalive.org.nz
Male Survivors of Sexual Abuse Trust malesurvivor.nz

Phone Helplines

Need to talk? (24 hour) – general mental heath and alcohol and drug advice and referrals. Free phone or text 1737
Healthline – free advice (including mental health issues) from trained registered nurses – (24 hour) 0800 611 116
Lifeline (24 hour) 0800 543 354
Youthline (24 hour) 0800 37 66 33
Alcohol & Drug Helpline (10am to 10pm) 0800 787 797
Auckland Sexual Abuse Help Crisis Line (24 hours) (09) 623 1700
Gambling helpline (24 hour) 0800 654 655
Kidsline – for kids (4pm – 6pm weekdays) 0800 KIDSLINE (0800 54 37 54)
Outline – Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (9am – 9pm, Mon – Fri. 6pm – 9pm, Sat, Sun & Holidays) 0800 OUTLINE (688 5463)
Samaritans (24 hour) 0800 726 666
What’s Up – for kids and teenagers. (daily from 12pm – 11pm) 0800 942 8787

Emergencies

If you or someone close to you is seriously unwell or at imminent risk of harming themselves or another please seek urgent medical attention, immediate advice from a telephone help line such as Healthline 0800 611 116 or immediate help from emergency services 111, or the mental health emergency service (phone or txt) 1737.